NZ 2008 Fruit Wine Award Winners!

The results are in at the New Zealand bi-annual fruit winemaker and cidermaker wine competition.

The winners are:

Best Red Fruit Wine Trophy
Sentry Hill Wines – Garrison Red Dry

Best Sparkling Fruit Wine Trophy
Cottage Wines – Sparkling Boysenberry

Best White Fruit Wine Trophy
Pukeko Grove Boutique Winery – Pukeko Feijoa

Best Cider Trophy
Bulmer Harvest – Scrumpy

Graeme Oldfield Memorial Trophy for Best Feijoa
Lothlorien Wine – Lothlorien Feijoa Reserve

Best Fortified Fruit Wine Trophy
Cottage Wines – Honey Mead Liqueur

Highest Scoring Fruit Wine Trophy
Cottage Wines – Sparkling Boysenberry

Competition was fierce due to the large number of entries and the quality of the wines this year was astounding.

Here is a copy of the medal winners specific to New Zealand:

2008 Medal Winners

The competition is sponsered by The Fruit Winemakers Association. The association was formed in 1985 to promote excellence in fruit winemaking and help direct an industry rich in potential. The members are highly skilled and take great pride in producing the highest quality fruit wines, ciders, liqueurs and fruit juices.

New Zealand is know to be a world leader in fruit wine production and Kiwis love their fruit wines.

If you are lucky enough to be in or visit New Zealand soon, look for these wines and give them a whirl!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.